Some Think

SOME THINK

Terrified and alone

Under the guise

Of what can safely be revealed

I lash out 

Anger

Acted out from

Fear

 

I feel ashamed

 

Who am I

Under that

 Tattoo

 

Lines etched in pain

Deep in the skin

Immortal

Forever

They tell my story

 

They are me

 

The fear hits me in the silence

In the shelter amongst that which is hidden

Fear in the rhythm of my

Pulsing heart

 

A big bass drum

 

As quick as it started

It suddenly stops

 

Is it the pause

the absence of noise

that IS

 

My religion

My family

My culture

My ink

 

Who is left once I have them removed

 

Am I actually just

 Some

Think

Or dare I believe I am something 

More 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Some Think”
  1. Tokoni O. Uti says:

    What made you write it?

    • Tapman says:

      I wrote this after an argument I had – I responded in defence. The latter part of the poem is a continuing theme in my mind – religion will forgive – which is great, but it seems to me that it concentrates on the sin and misses the problem. Someone once said and I can’t remember who – that the pauses in music are just as important as the sound, if not more so. This was a profound insight which is becoming more real to me. if we can’t separate the true self from the one we believe to be true, we are destined to respond in defence of it. My tattoo tells me I am a moral good person, when someone challenges my goodness I respond in defence…which isn’t always so good. If I just am without my tattoos of religion I have nothing left to defend. Kinda hoping I will get there one day. A long answer…could have been much longer cheers

Leave a Reply

