The Monster Within

Old eyes

Powerful and trained to see

Fight fire with fire

Anger with anger

An eye for an eye

Tooth for a tooth

No matter the cost, even the score

Old eyes

Trained for war

 

I am tied and bound

Abducted

Dragged into a lonely prison

Am I dead?

Is this a tomb?

Eyes plucked out and new ones given

I sit in the darkness within

 

I weep

 

New eyes strain to see

A shadow cast

Is that me?

The outline long and stretched

Eerie in the glow of death

unmistakable

although very………… very dim

The distorted figure it is him

The eye his eye

The tooth his tooth

The enemy is me

 

The monster within

Leave a Reply

