An “I am tired” Post

Hi again everyone…..I am still here.

I haven’t posted in a while, my last post “the Poem”, was the end of the road for me. I started this blog with no idea where I was headed…..the poem was the destination.

In the final lines of the verses I walk away from the church, I walk away from Christianity. I have done this now and I stand alone on this pasture, the one with the grave and the unassuming cross. ย I used to say, “I am not a Lutheran, I am a Christian”. I really don’t know what to say anymore…….I am? I can’t write too much more on this because I just don’t know. But this speech fell in my lap and got me thinking.

I am a Homophobe

Paul Weston generates a lot of fear in this piece and he uses the word racist (a lot) to draw people closer to himself – we identify with his fears and think, I am not a racist – a very manipulative and persuasive propoganda speech. The guys at work played it and every one of them related to it and the discussion grew into the “illegal immigrant” issue we have in Australia.

They are not illegal immigrants, they are refugees – our country is built on refugees and different cultures.

I am not in a talkative mood atm, so I am not going to say much, other than, try and listen to the speech and insert the word Homophobe where the word racist is….it all comes from the same mold ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comments
6 Responses to “An “I am tired” Post”
  1. cindy0803 says:

    Tapman,

    I missed the poem somehow. Just read it. I want to apologize for us all. I’m not sure if you have given up on Jesus or just his followers. All I know is I read great sadness in that poem. I hope you are able to be regenerated and find peace and comfort.

    • Tapman says:

      Cheers, I haven’t given up on Jesus or his followers – the sadness is more of displacement – how can I follow Christ without religion?….not sure about that part yet.

  2. violetwisp says:

    Excellent point! Every country is built on immigration, and every culture changes. I agree it all comes from fear and there are so many parallels between racism and homophobia.

    • Tapman says:

      Thanks – I think all countries are experiencing similar struggles, we need to grow up….unfortunately the propoganda is resulting in a return to fundamentalism ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Karin says:

    Tapmam, there is a church out there for you. One which stands up for refugees, for women, for LGBT, for the environment….you only need to link up with them. You are not alone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Btw, you are right, there is a swing towards fundamentalism/conservatism in our society which is driven by fear. The LCA is not different. However, rather than looking at the fearful group, look at those who are not fearful and whose existence counterbalances this swing.

Leave a Reply

