The Lie (Part 2)

Mornin’. This post continues to look at the depth of the lie – the complexity of the Matrix that keeps us from freedom. (Perhaps reading the first in this series will help….find it by clicking here.)

Following a bible study that looked at the story of Nicodemus visiting  Jesus, I began to think about being born again. I used to think that becoming a Christian meant atleast in part, responding in obedience – that is, changing behaviour to be more in line with Jesus. This I thought was not conforming to the pattern of this world as Romans 12 tells us:

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

I think I will have to post about changing behaviour sometime….but that is not what I want to talk about now. I want to talk about the pattern of this world because I think it actually has little to do with trying to change behaviour.

As I sit here I can think of a few patterns, but I think they all originate from the same source – the overarching pattern is one of filling the hole. We as Christians have always acknowledged this pattern. I remember in Sunday School being told that TV was the same as an idol in the Old Testament. I couldn’t for the life of me understand how they came to this horrible conclusion. After fourtyyears I can sort of see the point – we all have this hole in our lives that demands to be filled, so we grow up filling it with things. In my attempts to reach sainthood I was always aware of those things that hindered me from absolute devotion to God – worldly things, idols. Perhaps if you are not a Christian, or you haven’t tried to approach sainthood, you might not be able to relate here.  But I think you will agree that we all do try and fill the void with something – we want to find meaning in life – perhaps we look to family, perhaps we focus in on our work – perhaps we even listen to the adverts – In fact advertising proves what I am saying don’t you think, they aim for the hole and if there isn’t one for the product they want to sell, they dig it.

Ooooh, is that what Christianity tries to do…prove to the world that they have a hole to fill, a well organized advertising company that then makes the ultimate sales pitch?

The message of Christianity is one of freedom, we believe that this void in our lives can not be filled with stuff, so we proclaim a freedom from things that will not fulfil –  ultimate meaning and security we proclaim, can be found in God alone. Thus we have all heard about the Jesus shaped hole in our lives. So we try to fill the hole with theological opinions – I follow Paul you follow Barnabas, I am Lutheran etc, or we try to fill the hole with the Spirit, going to meetings for a top up.

Here is a disturbing thought……WHAT IF –    the hole is not meant to be filled? What if we are not meant to fill the void with Jesus, or God or scripture – what if we are meant to live as broken people, a  hole in our lives that we don’t need to and shouldn’t fill…..with anything. I am not talking about emptying ourselves of everything – religion was destroyed when the temple curtain was torn in two, the pattern of this world is religion so we spend our time trying to repair the curtain. What if that is what we need to be freed from – the need to fill the hole. I have been thinking about this for a while hoping for a revelation, a story that I might be able to use to explain myself – but it hasn’t come. But the brokeness images are in scripture, perhaps they will help.  When Israel’s army hid torches behind earthen vessels and smashed them at the right time – it was only in smashing the “earthen vessel” the “body” that unleashed power and victory (Judges 7: 15-22). I know this idea is not new in itself, but applying this old thought to the new – the pattern of the world and the pattern of Christianity are presently the same, we both have the aim of filling the hole! What would it mean if we changed our pattern to be different from the world? Perhaps I will talk about that next time……maybe.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Lie (Part 2)”
  1. lcamyopinion says:

    this weekend, because of the bye, I think i have a Docker shaped hole in my life. (frowny face with single tear)

Leave a Reply

