A Quicky

Hey all,

Just a quick Sunday morning post!

I have always been under the impression that when our Pastors went to seminary they were challenged in what they believe to be true, I thought they open mindedly looked at different opinions and learned how to think and learn without pre-concieved ideas. I think the stories I heard from seminary are either untrue or a thing of the past. I think they may just go there to learn how to be Lutheran.

Here is the quote I seen on facebook:

“Free thinkers are those who are willing to use their minds without prejudice and without fearing to understand things that clash with their own customs, priveleges or beliefs. This state of mind is not common, but essential for right thinking; where it is absent, discussion is apt to become worse that useless.”   

Leo Tolstoy

The thing that stood out for me was this bit: “….this state of mind is not common” Are we free thinkers? What do you think.

Comments
4 Responses to “A Quicky”
  1. Ken Ranos says:

    At seminary we are definitely challenged in what we believe to be true. How one takes the challenge and reacts to it, though, is not always the way professors intend. I’ve met some amazingly free thinkers and people who have grown by leaps and bounds, and I’ve met some of the most closed-minded people.

    • Tapman says:

      Yes, I do actually believe that Seminary lecturers do their best to train and teach Pastors and to challenge them, I occasionally get frustrated – and I probably wasn’t in a great place when I wrote this post – I hope it didn’t come across as me saying Pastors are closed minded.

  2. lcamyopinion says:

    I remember semester one, year one of seminary. 1986. First exam question…

    Infant baptism is the Achilles heel of Lutheran theology. Discuss.

    Wonderfully challenging question.

    • Tapman says:

      Your doing well, I have to remember what I did last week to fill in my time sheets – sorry no can do. Yes I agree, infant Baptism is the Achilles heel of Lutheran theology – no need to discuss.

Leave a Reply

