The Most Beautiful Unicorn – Love

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne.  All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.  He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.  For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink,  I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

Hope you got through all that – a parable from Matthews Gospel. I find it hard to read a lot of Jesus’ stories….maybe I have heard them one too many times or maybe I like my stories to come in video.  I think that Jesus parables had more impact in his day simply because story telling engages the imagination and I think we don’t use our imagination as much anymore – everything has to be in realistic computer generated special effects. Regardless, this parable has a stunning twist – (not quite as impactful as the end of “The Sixth Sense”) but it is there in black and white. “……whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.”

I spoke about love being reduced to a decision, I spoke about emotions being Unicorns, I spoke about killing Unicorns. I think it important to explain this killing a bit further – it is of utmost importance.

Christian men (I speak in general terms, if you think this is not you, think again) fail in showing love – I am not talking about those in prison or the hungry- or perhaps we neglect them as well – Christian men are failing to love their wives. A big reason for this is because we view the Bible as a book full of principles to guide us. If we can just  follow these principles then all will be well. The bible says, God gave us a helper, it says women are not to speak in church, it says women are to submit to their husbands, it says that wives have a “duty” to respond  sexually – of course we as men are called to love our wives – but this love is a decision, a dead unicorn. How are you doing in the loving department?

The fact that the Lutheran Church in Australia still forces submission onto women by not allowing them to follow God’s call to leadership is a clear indicator of the stuff I am talking about. In failing to listen to our women we are failing in listening to God. (refer back to parable above)

I wrote a parable of my own awhile back. I wrote it on a different blog and was hoping to find it so I could copy and paste it here – couldn’t find it so I will have to rewrite it again.

Frank had been married for twenty years or so. In this time he had learnt a thing or two about women. One of these things was that his wife needed to be in the mood for “love making”. Frank sat at his desk at his office, the in tray was empty and he had cleared all his emails, only thirty minutes and he could go home.

The week before last Frank had installed a fire place in his home. Not a real one, but one of those gas ones that has fake logs and a light behind them. They actually look quite real……and they don’t have the hassle of having to collect and chop wood! This gave Frank an idea. On his way home Frank planned to stop at IGA and buy a few things, he could then prepare a simple meal and have a romantic meal together. They could watch that movie Marjorie was wanting to watch….something about a notebook? As a finale they could sit in front of the new log fire……and anything could happen, Frank smiled. He picked up the phone: “Marjorie! Don’t worry about cooking dinner tonight, I have everything under control…..the traffic is pretty bad so don’t expect me in at the usual time” Marjorie replied “Oh thank you Frank, the timing couldn’t have been better, I got my period this morning and with all the cramps I really don’t feel up to cooking – thank you”  Franks face dropped, he replied politely and began to shutdown his computer and tidy up. He was a Christian man so he knew all about patience so he decided to drop into KFC and buy a ready made meal – it wasn’t all bad, the golf was on tele tonight.

This story is fictional and I have added an element of humour to it, but I think it talks to us as men – hopefully I am not standing out on a limb here. I wonder why Frank didn’t continue with the candle lit dinner even though sex was out of the picture? I think Frank had learned principles about love and marriage but failed miserably. I think it is time to stop looking into the Bible for principles to live by and start loving those God places in our lives – perhaps a good place to start is in the home. The modern church has a big push to return to the principles of the Bible – this push is a return to law – We need to discover the kind of love that wants to spend time on the couch with our wives – not because we want sex but because we want to.

I was accused of following my “Pet” agenda, I was told that I should give up writing and stick to photography. My interest in LGBTI issues is not a “pet”, I am concerned about it because : as our President put it – it is an attack on the Gospel(and on this point I actually agree with him). The Church is looking for principles to live by and incorrectly applying law and blatantly pointing the finger away from themselves. Am I attacking the Gospel? The LGBTI issue is not the issue – the issue is our disregard for what Christ came to do and our disregard for that most beautiful Unicorn – Love.

 

Comments
One Response to “The Most Beautiful Unicorn – Love”

Leave a Reply

