Drinking Unicorn Blood

…it is a monstrous thing, to slay a Unicorn. Only one who has nothing to lose, and everything to gain, would commit such a crime. The blood of a Unicorn will keep you alive, even if you are an inch from death, but at a terrible price. You have slain something pure and defenceless to save yourself, and you will have but a half-life, a cursed life, from the moment the blood touches your lips.“— Firenze  explains to Harry Potter why the slaying of a Unicorn is a crime.

In Harry Potter the Ministry of Magic made Unicorn blood a “non-tradeable” item – they made it illegal to buy or sell blood to protect the life of the Unicorn.

As I ponder my Harry Potter analogy I have to wonder – have I killed a Unicorn? Who would be so despicable as to kill a Unicorn not I….surely? But sadly I think I have.

Lutheran teaching told me that it is important not to rely on my emotions to feel Grace, emotions are unreliable and will not tell me the truth of the Gospel. As I grew up and experienced other denominations my Pastor instilled in me a fear of emotionalism – that hand raising I was doing was emotionalism and dangerous.

Each week I would pray

“O Almighty God, merciful Father,
I, a poor, miserable sinner, confess to You all my sins and iniquities, with which I have ever offended You and justly deserve Your temporal and eternal punishment.  But I am heartily sorry for them and sincerely repent of them; and I pray You, of Your boundless mercy……….”

At Youth Group we had Bible study on every alternate fortnight, on one of these night I remember being taught that love is not an emotion but a decision. This married up with what I already believed so I took this on board as  truth.

I am not blaming my Pastor, the context in which he spoke these things was true and valuable (I see this in hindsight). But because I was eager to protect my life I killed a Unicorn. From that moment on my spiritual life was steady. If I had to draw it on a graph I would draw a line slightly below zero – a few valleys but they were OK because every Christian experiences desert times, but no peaks. Peaks were dangerous. But I felt safe relatively safe, God’s Grace didn’t depend on my feelings so I kept killing them – killing the Unicorns to keep me alive, a half life.

There are moments in life that we have to decide to love someone, but love is more than a decision. It makes no sense to tell your wife “my love for you is a decision, I have no emotional feelings for you, but that’s OK I have decided to love you……and because I am a Christian I can do this even though you don’t deserve it”  I am sure these words would create a beautiful loving environment….NOT. Love is far more than just a decision.

There are times that we have to reign in our emotions and think logically, but it is through our emotions that we experience life – John 10:10 says that Jesus came so that we can experience life to the full.

Jesus, in his teaching often used emotion to point to a truth in his stories. For example I remember first hearing the story of the workers in the vineyard. When the guys who only worked for one hour got paid the same as those that worked all day I had an intense feeling of “That’s not fair”.  My last post drew on emotion and I make no apologies for that.

The coldness with which the church makes decisions about LGBT people is a sure sign that I am not the only Unicorn killer in our midst. Please lets stop killing Unicorns, lets revive love and empathy in our midst and relearn what it means to be  a Christian.

Emotions are Unicorns – Love is the most beautiful one.

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Drinking Unicorn Blood”
  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Yup. Its time people do things differently and out of love.

Leave a Reply

