Expensive Trousers???

I begin by making an apology – I am about to ruin a worship song for you. Quite a few years ago a Pastor/friend told us how he had never liked the song “As the Deer Pants”, my wife and I made the mistake of asking him why. Whenever he sang the song he could only think of “Expensive trousers” thus the worshipful tone of the song was ruined…forever.

Biblical exegesis can be a little like this – in a worship song it is quite easy to see the context and it isn’t long and you realize it isn’t talking about “trousers” at all. Context is important, in fact if you neglect it, it is likely your trousers are the only thing that we can see….as in the image above.

This post is a continuation of a laypersons attempt at exegesis. For my other attempts you might be interested to click here and here.

Romans1

24 Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. 25 They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.26 Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. 27 In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error.

 

 

 

After watching the above video, answer me , which of these children upset God so much that He gave them over to the sinful desires of their hearts.

If you think this passage is talking about gay people you have your head in the sand.

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Expensive Trousers???”
  1. Erich says:

    I don’t mean to be adversarial here, but where is the exegesis?

    This is incredibly heartfelt and moving. It is wonderfully sentimental, but it doesn’t really take a look at just what Paul is talking about here, nor does it dispute the, perhaps, common interpretation.

    Please don’t play to my emotions.

    • Tapman says:

      Warned you that you wouldn’t like it. Nothing wrong with emotion – God gave them to us for a reason. There is actually a lot of exegesis included in the short snippet. I am pointing out that the context in which Paul wrote this text is different to what we apply to it today. The clue is that people are born gay, they are not handed over to it because of disobedience. If you can see the clue you might be willing to actually look back and figure out the context in which it was written. Most people are not willing to do this, they can only see the expensive trousers.

      Remember I am not a theologian nor a Pastor – I am an electrician with a blog. The one point I made in this post is exegetical in nature – context is important.

      • Erich says:

        I disagree that there is nothing wrong with emotion. It tends to muddy issues that need to be thought out and picked over once we have had an emotional reaction. For example:

        If we rely on our emotions alone we can never be assured of God’s grace. If we wait to feel that we are forgiven our sinful nature will continue to plague us with doubt and guilt. It is only when we believe the Gospel that we can be assured of our salvation. I believe that this is Walther’s IX thesis in the Book Law and Gospel:

        “You are not rightly distinguishing Law and Gospel in the Word of God if you point sinners who have been struck down and terrified by the Law toward their own prayers and struggles with God and tell them that they have to work their way into a state of grace. That is, do not tell them to keep on praying and struggling until they would feel that God has received them into grace. Rather, point them toward the Word and Sacraments.”

        Do not rely on your feelings they will not tell you the Truth of the Gospel.

        I comment to you again reading Law and Gospel.

        As far as exegesis goes you really didn’t do an exegesis. Check this out:

        https://docs.google.com/a/caa.columbia.edu/viewer?a=v&q=cache:KDfohzZWZ1MJ:www.fundotrasovejas.org.ar/ingles/articulos/The%2520Ten%2520Myths%2520.pdf+&hl=en&gl=us&pid=bl&srcid=ADGEESieZ0WNPyHBi8PTCURPfrF4qDZhODyJ_19RtBqLQvJZlhTSQdEPb8NGU-68DV0DMvHm-8hRuwVzbOS4RdHbl2LO-kRBC4prWsPq8Yd7G4QbzX1YvlKF6uU1KDezq_wGhff8tCcZ&sig=AHIEtbRL-YovjCtmsJmRmkIDjft9srSKhg

        I find this to be a much more compelling argument than playing to my emotions.

        And to your admission of not being a theologian nor a pastor; neither am I. I work in a cloakroom by night and as a printmaker and poet by day. I’m just a poor sinner and a Lutheran.

      • Tapman says:

        Thanks for that – I know I didn’t do an exegesis, that was kinda the point. I will look at links you provided when time permits.

        I agree 100% with what you say about emotion but at the same time disagree 100% What you say is true but a life without emotion, study of scripture without emotion can be lifeless (not saying it is – because I agree emotion is not a good guage) Compassion, love, empathy are all intertwined with emotion and are thus essential and good.

        You might be waiting awhile if your expecting a proper exegesis. cheers

  2. kevin klingner says:

    The problem I have with glbts position on bullying and the perceived views of the media is that bullying is only done to this group.It’s not.I was a victim of bullying through primary and high school and throughout my life so far.I was even bashed and given a black eye last year because of a bully where I am staying at the moment.I have also been bullied by my family at different times and by teachers too. So I know what it is about. since I was 22yrs old I have been a sufferer of depression and bipolar and suicide attempts and suicidal thoughts.That doesnt define who I am,nor does it define me as being gay. These things are part and parcel of a sinfull fallen world which by and large rejects God.If one is to believe in the evolutionary modal,the world we know should be getting better.All I see is the repetition of the same wrongs from the past and the propensity of humanities,inhumanity to everything else in creation.It is all part and parcel of the fall and sin in general.

    • Tapman says:

      Sorry to hear that you have been a victim of bullying. It is a problem in our society and not only for LGBTI people. As a teenager I managed for the most part to avoid the bully radar – for the most part. My sister bought me a shirt that was pink. She assured me it wasn’t pink, she said it was apricot. Guess what, the bullies agreed with me. I was lucky to avoid being bashed for suspected gayness. The church is not the sole reason that people get picked on for being gay – the point is the churches official stance puts a red shirt on the gay people marking them as a target for bullies. You don’t choose to be gay you just are – the church needs to stop labelling them as distorted and sinful.

Leave a Reply

