Let’s look into the “Good Book” for guidance!

Today I thought I’d begin by drawing from the “good book”, seek inspiration from the book that every Christian should have read. I am of course talking about Harry Potter. Jesus was a story teller – I’m not great with stories but when I hear a good one I think about it for a long while. Harry Potter is one of these stories.

Remember Dumbledore’s Army? I love it how there is such a wide range of characters involved in this group. What I find even more interesting, is that it is the most unlikely characters that play significant and important roles in the story. I am thinking mostly now of Neville Longbottom, the gangly klutz that makes the final deadly blow in the battle against evil. This is how it is in the Kingdom of God: Reading from 1Cor1 vs  26-29 “ Brothers and sisters, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth.  But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.  God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are…”

I want to highlight a curious phenomenon. This is in no way backed up with scientific research or statistical studies but I think it  interesting enough to note. Two of the most “anti-gay” people I have listened to – have a “soft spot” for lesbians, Bill Muehlenberg the Christian activist for one and a guy who calls himself the “Word Guru” another. I point this out because it shows that a lot of the opinions that people hold about this topic are extremely subjective. Female – female ………maybe they like the idea? Male – male they are repulsed and disgusted. For instance Mike Semmler at a South Australian pastor’s conference referred to their “disgusting copulations”.  I am not saying right or wrong, I am just pointing out that even before a word is uttered these strong feelings of repulsion are present.

I'm a Doctor......I don't make mistakes!

I’m a Doctor……I don’t make mistakes!

Medical doctors have made terrible mistakes in treating “intersex” babies because of how they “feel” about babies born with both sets of genitalia or other variances. There is change underfoot but still, decisions are often made not so much with the person in mind but with what the doctor or society is comfortable with. For instance I read somewhere that penis size was often used as the determining factor as to whether the penis was inverted into a vagina and the intersex person made into a girl! Again we see that feelings and prejudices hinder rational and compassionate thought.

Scientific evidence suggests that gender is specified/hardwired in the brain before birth – genital development happens in the middle of the first trimester, neural development at the end. For some people the neural pathways develop normally but the genitals are cross gendered. (eg. person with penis and ovaries, penis and vagina) These people are known as intersex. Others have normal genital development but the brain is cross gendered – these people are known as transexual.

In our world, we have this reality, we have homosexuals, transexuals,bisexuals and intersex – they are born with these differences, no doubt about it. Disgust is not an appropriate response.  I reckon we need these people in Dumbledore’s Army, what kind of story would it be if significant characters are left out of the story. Contrary to what many would have us believe 1-2 percent of the population is more than significant – I seem to remember a story…..something about 100 sheep.

As I pointed out a bit earlier, there are strong feelings of repulsion and social prejudice – with that in mind  I think that  for the moment it is pointless turning to the Bible for direction – do you really think that we would have a “good hermaneutic” with these attitudes before we even start. Not sure if I used that word correctly – has to do with listening to God’s Word correctly. For the moment I intend to look further into Harry Potter,  you might be surprised to hear that we all carry a lightning shaped scar! We all live under the stairs in a small cupboard!

Comments
2 Responses to “Let’s look into the “Good Book” for guidance!”
  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    We should love as God loves… judging people is not for us.

Leave a Reply

