Fact or Fiction

As promised here is my first Post on Bill Muehlenberg’s book :  “Strained Relations. The challenge of homosexuality”. Bill is an influential person, he flew into Perth not that long ago for some speaking engagements. You may have read about the protests in the paper. Influential people need to be held accountable for what they say, especially in topics such as these – It could be life or death for some. This may be the reason I am writing or it could be that he wouldn’t accept any of my comments on his blog – he said “it was a blog to promote his opinion, if I want to promote mine I should make my own blog” I am a small, small petty man.

As I am unedumacated in the ways of critiquing literature I am not sure exactly how to start. I am sitting here looking at it…..It is a book, coloured brown, reddish brown. The back is also the same colour but it contains not a title but six endorsements. Is that what you call them….people who enjoyed the book, telling us how good it was. I might read one of them for you. It comes from Rev. Dr. Stuart Robinson. He says: “Bill Muehlenberg is known for fearlessly following facts with unswerving accuracy to whatever conclusions the evidence demands, irrespective of the pressures of passing political correctness. If your preference is for facts rather than fiction, read this book.”

My preference is for facts so thanks Rev. I will read on.

Remember the footnotes!

I thought I might give you all a morsel of what kind of facts are to come. Bill makes this statement and then provides proof: “It is an aggressive homosexual lobby, along with the pressure of political correctness, that has robbed many of a chance to go straight”

“…..More recently, a study found that psychotherapy has helped a large percentage of American homosexuals to change. Of 200 homosexuals and lesbians given the treatment, 78 per cent of males and 95 per cent of females reported a change in their sexuality”…..it was concluded that this was evidence that gays could change the core features of sexual orientation. p.58

Wow, a 78% -95% success rate.

I Googled the study and the name listed in the footnotes and found out more of the truth. In his retirement Robert Spitzer had one regret – he realized that his study was poorly investigated. Without boring you to tears, here is the end of his discourse to the gay community:

“I believe I owe the gay community an apology for my study making unproven claims of the efficacy of reparative therapy. I also apologize to any gay person who wasted time and energy undergoing some form of reparative therapy because they believed that I had proven that reparative therapy works with some “highly motivated” individuals.”

Robert Spitzer. M.D.
Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry,
Columbia University

Comments
One Response to “Fact or Fiction”
  1. lcamyopinion says:

    Thanks for the research on this.

    The propositions of the anti-gays collapses under investigation, immediately and every time.

Leave a Reply

